End of the season?

Really? Marching Band can’t be over yet, it just started.

Most years when we get to this point of the season I am ready to be done with marching band and move on to new stuff, but this year it feels different. I’m not tired of the show yet, I’m not tired of the bus rides yet, I’m not ready to kill my drum major yet, and the drama has even been less intense this year. Plus what the crap is up with the scoring and judges this year? Every band in our division has finished in the top 4 and bottom 4 this year. There has been no real consistency at all. I feel like I’m on a very expensive roller coaster ride, and I don’t want it to stop.

This is the last week of the “Colors” show and then the seniors will get all teary for the first time and we will need to move on. Usually I’m already thinking about next year, and honestly I haven’t wanted to go there yet.

So for those of you who have procrastinated seeing our show you only have a couple opportunities left. Wednesday night at 7pm w will be performing at UHS for the last time. Friday and Saturday we will be in St. George. Make sure you come see this show. It is the best one we have ever done, and I can’t wait to see if we can pull off a placement at State this year. It is going to be close, either way.

To the parents I just want to say, “thanks.” I love these kids and I can’t think of a better group to have spent the last 5 months with. To the seniors I want to say, “how dare you grow up? What were you thinking?” To the younger kids I want to say, “let’s go get ’em next year!”

Leave a Reply

